Weaving

Inkle Looms and Stringy Things

My interest in weaving began as I approached the age of 13, preparing for my Bat Mitzvah, my mother and I decided to weave my tallis, or prayer shawl.  I would wear it on the day I became a Bat Mitzvah, literally Daughter of the Commandments, in a special ceremony at the synagogue.  I had seen my mom weaving in years prior to that, and I wanted to give it a try myself.  We chose colors that had a special significance to Judaism and she embroidered sections of fabric that would be added to the woven tallis.

Fast forward a few years, and the SCA brought me right back to weaving, this time on an inkle loom.  I had seen friends weaving on them leading up to Pennsic last year, and figured I’d invest in a loom and see what I could do with it.  As soon as I finished my first plain weave piece, I was hooked.  My loom is much more portable than my sewing machine, so I was able to bring it to work with me (nannying a lovely baby girl) and weave a bit every day.

After a few months, I challenged myself to progress to card weaving, also known as tablet weaving.  Card weaving allows for much more intricate patterns than plain weaving.  It also leads to more complicated weaving methods, such as double-faced and brocade weaving.  With these, I can create custom pieces in whatever designs people like.

Leave a Reply

